Securing Zoom Meetings

Issue/Question

How do I prevent people from sharing unwanted or objectionable content in my Zoom meetings?

How do I prevent Zoombombing?

Environment

  • Zoom 

Cause

Other institutions have seen a rise in outside actors sharing racist, vulgar, or otherwise objectionable content in a Zoom meeting.

Resolution

General Tips/Guidelines

  1. Don't share your Zoom meeting link in public places like social media or on your website
  2. Only send the meeting password to people who will be attending
  3. Update your Zoom app to include the latest security enhancements

Setup Your Zoom Account

Note: Some of these settings limit the interaction you can have with the people in your Zoom Meetings.  If you have questions about what settings are right for you please Contact the Service Desk

  1. Log in to Zoom
  2. Click Sign In
  3. Click Settings
  4. Check Require a password when scheduling new meetings
  5. Set Sharing to Host Only
  6. Check Only authenticated users can join meetings
  7. Uncheck Virtual Background
  8. Uncheck Allow Annotation
  9. Uncheck Allow Whiteboard
  10. Uncheck Allow Removed Participants to Rejoin
  11. Uncheck Allow Participants to Rename Themselves
  12. Check Allow Waiting Room
    Note: This will require you to admit users to your Zoom meeting from the Waiting Room
  13. Check Mute Participants on Entry
  14. Uncheck Allow Participants to send a message visible to all participants
    NoteThese settings will only affect future meetings, be sure to remake any meetings you had previously scheduled so the new settings are applied.

In the Zoom Meeting

  1. Click Manage Participants
  2. Click More
  3. Uncheck Allow Participants to Unmute themselves
    Note:
    You will need to allow individuals who have a question to unmute themselves.  Alternatively, you can leave this setting unchecked and only use it if you are experiencing issues.
  4. Familiarize yourself with Removing Participants
    Note:
    If you remove a participant, you will need to end and restart the meeting it you want them to re-join
    1. Next to the participant you want to remove click More
    2. Click Remove
  5. Familiarize yourself with Turning off Participants Video
    1. ​​Next to the participant whose video you want to disable click More
    2. Click Stop Video
  6. Lock your meeting once everyone has joined
    1. Click Security in the Zoom Meeting bottom ribbon
    2. Click Lock Meeting
  7. Familarize yourself with the Security Button
    1. ​​​​​​​You can use the button to lock the meeting, enable the waiting room, change who can share screen, chat, and rename themselves

Note: For more information on security settings available in Zoom see Zoom's instructions on securing your meeting

Details

Article ID: 4904
Created
Fri 3/27/20 3:53 PM
Modified
Mon 2/8/21 9:45 AM
KCS Article Status
WIP: Only Problem & some Environment captured
Not Validated: Complete & Resolution captured, confidence lacks in structure, content, no feedback
Validated: Complete & reusable, used by licensed KCS user, confidence in resolution & std. compliance
Validated